The Rock and Roll Hall Of Fame (which I often think of as The Rock and Roll Hall of Shame,) has announced its 2015 inductees.

The winners are: Green Day, Bill Withers, Stevie Ray Vaughan, Lou Reed, Joan Jett and The Blackhearts (but the E Street band could not be inducted along with Bruce Springsteen and The Paul Butterfield Blues Band (another curiosity inducted by the geniuses who vote for the inductees.)

Ringo Starr will be honored with the award for musical excellence, but this excellent musician, is not good enough to be inducted in the Rock Hall.  The 5 Royales will also be honored?  Once again, a curious selection.  The 5 royales had a number 66 and a number 81 song on The Billboard Charts.  They do not write their own music, yet they are being honored.  The Moody Blues, Paul Revere and The Raiders, Jethro Tull, Chicago, Bon Jovi and The Steve Miller Band, are not in The Hall.  Foundation Joel Peresman, is one of the clowns who decides who gets in.  Those who elect decide, we need a doo-wop group, so goes The 5 Royales, even thought they are only getting a special award.

In order to be eligible for induction into the Rock Hall’s 2015 class, an act had to release its first recording in 1989 or earlier. That means Green Day, which dropped its EP “1,000 Hours” in April 1989, has the distinction of being inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in the band’s first year of eligibility.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s