A FINE SINGER/SONGWRITER LESLEY GORE PASSES AWAY

untitled  imagesABNA9NU5

I did not know that Lesley Gore was ill and I was very saddened to hear that she passed away at age 68.  Lesley was not a smoker.

.

Singer Lesley Gore performs onstage at the ASCAP Pied Piper award celebration in honor of Quincy Jones at the Nokia Theatre on April 22, 2008 in New Y...

Ronnie Spector and Neil Sedaka chimmed in regarding what a great singer Lesley was.  She was born Lesley Sue Goldstein on May 2, 1946.  At the age of sixteen, Lesley recorded “It’s My Party”  which reached number one on The Billboard charts and followed this song up with many other hits.  Lesley composed songs for The Musical “Fame” and received an academy for “Out Here On My Own.”

Year Single (A-side, B-side)
Both sides from same album except where indicated
Peak chart positions Album
US
[20]
US AC
[20]
US R&B
[20]
UK
[21]
AU
[22]
1963 It’s My Party
b/w “Danny” (from Boys, Boys, Boys)
1 1 9 1 I’ll Cry If I Want to
Judy’s Turn to Cry
b/w “Just Let Me Cry”
5 10 19
She’s a Fool
b/w “The Old Crowd”
5 26 28 Lesley Gore Sings of Mixed-Up Hearts
1964 You Don’t Own Me
b/w “Run, Bobby, Run”
2 4
“Je Ne Sais Plus (You Don’t Own Me)”
b/w “Je N’Ose Pas (Run, Bobby, Run)”
Non-album tracks
That’s the Way Boys Are
b/w “That’s The Way The Ball Bounces”
12 16 Boys, Boys, Boys
I Don’t Wanna Be a Loser
b/w “It’s Gotta Be You”
37 12
Maybe I Know
b/w “Wonder Boy”
14 20 37 Girl Talk
“Hey Now” /
“Sometimes I Wish I Were A Boy”
76
86
1965 Look of Love
b/w “Little Girl Go Home”
27 89
“All Of My Life”
b/w “I Cannot Hope For Anyone” (Non-album track)
71 The Golden Hits of Lesley Gore
Sunshine, Lollipops, and Rainbows
b/w “You’ve Come Back” (from Girl Talk)
13 53 Lesley Gore Sings of Mixed-Up Hearts
“My Town, My Guy and Me”
b/w “A Girl In Love”
32 88 My Town, My Guy & Me
“I Won’t Love You Anymore (Sorry)”
b/w “No Matter What You Do” (from My Town, My Guy & Me)
80 92 Lesley Gore Sings All About Love
1966 “We Know We’re in Love”
b/w “That’s What I’ll Do”
76
“Young Love”
b/w “I Just Don’t Know If I Can” (Non-album track)
50 24
“Off and Running”
b/w “I Don’t Care” (from My Town, My Guy & Me)
108 75 California Nights
“Treat Me Like a Lady”
b/w “Maybe Now”
115
1967 California Nights
b/w “I’m Going Out (The Same Way I Came In)”
16
“Summer and Sandy”
b/w “I’m Fallin’ Down” (from Magic Colors, unreleased)
65 Lesley Gore Golden Hits, Vol. 2[23]
“Brink of Disaster”
b/w “On A Day Like Today”
82 Magic Colors (unreleased)
“Magic Colors”
b/w “It’s A Happening World”
1968 “Small Talk”
b/w “Say What You See”
124 Non-album tracks
“He Gives Me Love (La, La, La)”
b/w “Brand New Me” (Non-album track)
119 Lesley Gore Golden Hits, Vol. 2[23]
“I Can’t Make It Without You”
b/w “Where Can I Go” (from Magic Colors, unreleased)
“I’ll Be Standing By”
b/w “Look The Other Way”
Non-album tracks
1969 “Take Good Care (Of My Heart)”
b/w “I Can’t Make It Without You” (from Golden Hits Volume 2)
“Take Good Care (Of My Heart)”
b/w “You Sent Me Silver Bells” (from Magic Colors, unreleased)
98.6Lazy Day
b/w “Summer Symphony”
36
“Wedding Bell Blues”
b/w “One By One”
1970 “Why Doesn’t Love Make Me Happy”
b/w “Tomorrow’s Children”
39
“Come Softly to Me”
b/w “Billy ‘N Sue’s Love Scene”
“When Yesterday Was Tomorrow”
b/w “Why Me, Why You”
1971 “Back Together”
b/w “Quiet Love”
1972 “She Said That”
b/w “The Road I Walk”
Someplace Else Now
1975 “Immortality”
b/w “Give It To Me, Sweet Thing”
Love Me by Name
“Sometimes” (with The Brothers Johnson)
b/w “Give It To Me, Sweet Thing”
“—” denotes releases that did not chart.
2 thoughts on “A FINE SINGER/SONGWRITER LESLEY GORE PASSES AWAY

Leave a Reply

